Link

Book 2 – Chapter 14

-Olympus-

“Okay so the psionic dampeners are our best bet right now?”

“Yeah, until she can learn to control and contain her power.”

“Okay then, take off your suit and let is study it. Meanwhi-”

“No, I’m not taking off my suit.”

“What do you mean?  I thought you said-“

“I said you could study it. Not that I would take it off.” The ghost said.

“Alright then, we’ll scan, replicate it, then use that one.” Leo said.

“If you can.”

“Come with me.” Leo said as took the challenge he let the ghost to his underground lab.

As the ghost allowed Leo to study his armor, he was slowly observing the lab. There were plenty of things he could use to kill Leo and get away. However he was curious about the Great leader of the people who wanted his allegiance.

“This is going to take forever.” Leo sighed.

“Whats wrong?”

“I can produce the tech but it’ll take a few weeks since our molecular fabricators are being used to build new space ports.”

As Leo thought in silence about how to produce the tech he needed without pulling the fabricators out, the Ghost decided to ask a question.

“Aren’t you afraid of being in the same room as me… alone?”

Leo laughed at that.

“What’s so funny?”

“Nothing. Just.. If you wanted to try and kill me you’d have tried already.” He smiled as he stood in front of the ghost.

“Who’s to say I can’t kill you now?”

“Feel free to tr-”

Without warning the ghost struck at Leo, only to have his fist hit a shield.

“Personal shield. I was a bout to say. Plus the fact of the force field would be around you in under a second if you actually touched me.” Leo told him.

Leo couldn’t see it but the ghost was smiling under his mask.

“Well now that that’s out of the way. Since this will take time I need you to send me back to Deadman’s port.”

“Why?”

“Can’t tell you.”

“Fine, I’ll have one of the mercs take you back, but if you betray me… deadman port will just be deadman. If you understand me.” Leo threatened.

“That’ll work for me.”

“Eden, make the arrangements.”

“Underway”

-Terminator Universe-

Looking around the room, it seemed like people had all contracted food poisoning. In actuality it was the effect of people seeing the sheer savageness and brutality of the Zerg. People being ripped apart by zerglings, melted by infestors, trampled by ultralisks.

“Stop. Turn it off. Please.” Kate begged.

As the holograms of death and destruction closed off, many were silent. Not one of them could say a single word. They had lost all ability to do so after what they witnessed.

“This is our enemy. The Zerg, for thousands of years they have been evolving as the perfect death machine. Thats not even counting the other horrible things they can do.”

“It gets worse?” Kate asked, astonished.

“Much worse. And to defend our citizens, we need every single war machine available. Even terminators and this machine army.” Nathaniel said sadly.

“You think you know death and war. Truth is you’ve barely touched the surface of it. In our universe, humanity still has its squabbles and wars. Yet at the same time we are unified in the fights against the Zerg. Their last attack consumed an entire planet, 40 billion lives were lost. Please believe me when I say we need every gun we can get.” Ka interrupted.

Nodding to each other, they agreed to join the Imperium and to fight against the Zerg.

“Thanks to you guys joining us, we will extend protection to the entire planet. We haven’t started yet but I think in about two years we’ll be able to clean up all the radiation left from ‘Judgement Day’.”

The leaders were extremely surprised at the extremely short amount of time to clean up the radiation that spanned an entire planet.

“Meanwhile we will begin tearing down ruined cities and begin building new ones. Of course save a few historical sites that survived or cultural important ones. According to our projections, it will take three months for a new and improved city to be raised.”

Everyone was astonished and looked to John for some semblance of reasonability. John who was standing there just smiled.

“Remember when this war started, when the bombs fell. We never saw hope or salvation, we saw despair and for the first time in my life I see the end of the tunnel. My mom left a message for me about his day, she said that I would lead us out of the dark. Maybe I lead us, but they are the light. I can’t help but think how many live we will save if you all agree to join. I know I’ve already made my decision.” John said as if the war was already over.

“Whoa, who said you get to take a break? Who do you think will be leading this planet into the future?” Nathaniel interrupted.

“Don’t I get to retire? I’ve been fighting all my life.” John complained.

“Don’t worry, we’ll talk retirement plans later. Our High Lord has plans for people of distinguished service. You will be one of the first people I push to get that right.” Nathaniel smiled.

“Well before anything is set in stone, that is what we offer from our side of negotiations. As for our demands, they are a bit… different from what your probably expecting.”

“What do you mean?”

“Citizenship. If we do this then every single person will have to adhere to the rules and regulations of the Imperium. That means there are no ‘elected officials’, our system of government is different from that you are so familiar with.”

They agreed to do so, eagerly seeing how the last government did so miraculously well at ending their world.

“Alright then lets let everyone else decide.”

-Deadman’s Port-

In a dingy bar at the center of Deadman’s port , where there were few people around. There was a known rule for the place. You enter at your own accord, that was the rule. Many wannabe tough guys have veered through those doors, only to leave the station through an airlock. That was the rule of the White branch Bar.

Wiping the glasses behind the counter was a burley woman, she seemed normal but she was a former medic through the brood wars and was also a seasoned wraith pilot. Sprinkled throughout the bar were other men and women. Each and everyone of them were different, pilots, marines, star fighters, and even normal run of the mil smart criminals. The only thing that some had in common more that others was the fact that there were people who escaped Tarsonis.

Tarsonis, before the fall that half over two billion terran humans.

All lost in the tide that was the swarm.

There were literally, families ripped apart and dead bodies piled up mountains high.

Many of the people would never forget the sight of the zerg destroying the heart of the confederacy. After that many people lost the ability to feel safet, lost peace, and more than  that they lost hope.

“Marcia!”

Looking up from her glass, a skinny patron came up to her with a frantic expression.

“What is it Peters?” She smiled at the skinniest patron in the bar.

“Its Kal’mor! He’s sent something!” he said excitedly.

“Really? That guy hasn’t been here in weeks, last he said was that he was on a job.” She recalled.

“Yeah well I got the message but I need the decoder.” He said.

She raised an eyebrow.

“Decoder? We only use those in emergencies… come with me. Carl! Can you take care of the bar for me?”

A man came out from behind and nodded to her.

Together she led Peters to the backroom of the establishment. The backroom looked like a normal office, office desk… lamp… terminal… shotgun… grenades… all basic things in a office on the port. Handing her the message, she put it through the terminal and the message revealed itself.

‘sanctuary’ came up on her screen.

“Whats that mean?” Peters asked.

“Something I have to check…” she said with a smile.

3 thoughts on “Book 2 – Chapter 14

Leave a comment